Vulnerability in the Gym

Walking into the gym for the first time I was nervous. I was out of my comfort zone. I was a weak girl struggling to use 10lb weights next to men pumping 100lbs as a warm up. Then I remembered a TEDtalk my cousin told me about a few months back. It talked about the difference between vulnerability and shame. Shame being a bad thing, but vulnerability….vulnerability being a good thing. Why? Vulnerability is the birthplace of innovation and change. If you don’t put yourself out there feeling vulnerable, you won’t change your body and become stronger.

Challenge yourself. Be vulnerable. Change yourself.

Roosevelt once said “It is not the critic who counts, but the ability to fail greatly”. Think about the meaning of this quote and ask yourself who you would rather be… Here’s a link to the Ted talk if you’re interested in listening to the whole thing!:

Brené Brown: The power of vulnerability | Talk Video | TED …

Leave a comment